Profiles of Beskirted Men
March 13, 2024

Today, we welcome Jayce from New Jersey, USA to Profiles of Beskirted Men!

What is your name?


Where are you from?

New Jersey, USA

Which types of gender non-conforming clothing do you enjoy wearing?

Anything soft and colorful with a preference for flowing dresses and pleated skirts.

When did you start wearing gender non-conforming clothing?

At approximately 5 years old, wearing dresses, shoes and panties that were my sisters.

How did you start wearing gender non-conforming clothing and why?

Curiosity and a desire to be like my sister. It was exciting to break the rules. I enjoyed reading and singing more than sports.

What is your motivation now for putting on gender non-conforming clothing?

I find it relaxing, a means of escaping the world for a while. Its an opportunity for me to visually and physically express my feminine side.

What do gender non-conforming clothes mean to you?

Escape from drabness. A chance to be creative to dance in different outfits. I sometimes feel I’m “thumbing my nose” at the expectations of restrictive society.

How often do you wear gender non-conforming clothing?

Not often enough. As a child and teen I was discrete and hidden, keeping my alter ego private and protected. During college and graduate school I did share my thoughts and behavior with a few close friends (read that as VERY few close friends.) After over a decade of marriage I gently shared my cross-dressing with my wife who was initially tolerant and over time became accepting and even somewhat supportive.

Do you go out in public dressed in gender non-conforming clothes? If not, why not? If so, how often and where do you go? Are there any places you wouldn’t go?

Rarely: I’ve been to some Tri-Ess meetings and often wear panties and flat bras under my outer wear. The “why not” part is, I worked in education and was always worried getting caught would lead to significant difficulties. Now retired I don kilts and skirts with fashionable colorful undies below, accompanied by shirts or T-shirts most of the time.

Do you find it hard to go out in public in gender non-conforming clothes?

Not any more. With age comes wisdom AND freedom. I have no problem wearing a kilt or denim skirt to Home Depot, IHOP, the dentists and other places.

What is your best and/or worst experience in gender non-conforming clothes?

My best was 15 years ago, house sitting for a relative in a different state for 10 days and shopping with my wife. We picked out dresses, skirts, sandals, lingerie and make-up. We had undisturbed privacy and I put on a beauty show for an audience of one.

Do your family or friends know about how you dress?

We had 6 children, 4 sons and 2 daughters. One daughter knows, one son knows and I believe the others suspect but we’ve never talked about it. Of course acquaintances at Tri-Ess and VERY close friends are aware.

Are there people you don’t want to know about it?

Me no, I’m secure enough now to share with others…BUT…my wife would like her side of the family and our mutual friends left in the dark.

Does your partner accept your clothing choices?

Yes, she progresses from tolerating to accepting to supporting over the years.

What is your favorite style?

My favorite style is “house wife” nothing extravagant, everything simple and comfortable.

Where do you shop for your clothes?

In the beginning I shared my sister’s without her knowledge and “borrowed” some items from my female cousins. Otherwise most came from Thrift stores, yard sales or castaway stuff for my wife or her friends. Now, I get blouses, pantyhose and lingerie from Amazon.

Is there anything else you would like to add?

I’m content with my limited expression of my feminine side, grateful my wife is flexible and considering getting my ears pierced and another step in the right direction.

Do you have any links you would like to share (i.e. social media profiles or websites)?

Not really, I think anyone who has discovered this sight is on the right track.

Thank you for sharing, Jayce!

If you would like to have your profile featured in Profiles of Beskirted Men, take a look at the post I wrote about it for more details.

About the Author

Alex Seifert
In many ways, Alex is a typical man who just so happens to enjoy wearing skirts and high heels. He is married to a wonderful, supportive wife and has a young son. His hobbies include reading, programming, metal music, playing instruments, video games, cars, hiking and a number of other smaller things.

Related Posts